One Wexford Native Named In Fitzgibbon Cup Team Of The Year

Just one Wexford native has been named in the Fitzgibbon Cup team of the year.

Even though the Model County had a strong contingent representing their colleges in this years’ competition, St Martins’ Joe O’Connor is the only representative named on their ‘Rising Stars’ team of the year.


In particular, Carlow IT’s Cathal Dunbar, along with DCU’s Padraig Foley should count themselves unlucky after terrific campaigns with their respective colleges.

Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Stars hurling team 2018:

1. David McCarthy (UL)
2. Conor Cleary (UL)
3. Eoghan O’Donnell (DCU DE)
4. Seán Finn (UL)
5. Gearóid Hegarty (UL)
6. Brian Hogan (Maynooth University)
7. David Fitzgerald (UL)
8. Colin Dunford (Carlow IT)
9. Joe O’Connor (DCU DE)
10. John Donnelly (DCU DE)
11. Martin Kavanagh (Carlow IT)
12. Donal Burke (DCU DE)
13. Niall O’Brien (DIT)
14. Jason Forde (UL)
15. John McGrath (UL)