Trio Of Former Wexford Hurlers To Be Honoured At This Year’s All-Ireland Hurling Final

Three former Wexford hurlers will be honoured at the 2018 All-Ireland hurling final between Galway and Limerick. 

Screenshot (569)

A GAA panel came together on Wednesday evening to name the ‘Hurling Team of the 90’s’ and Damien Fitzhenry, Liam Dunne and Martin Storey were all named on the side after much deliberation.

The panel consisted of GAA President John Horan, Irish Independent’s Martin Breheny, Irish Independent, Sean Moran of The Irish Times, Michael Lyster of RTE, Brian Carty, Jim O’Sullivan, RnaG’s Martán Ó Ciardha, and Sean Bán Breathnach.

Fitzy, Dunne and Storey will now be honoured at half-time of this year’s All-Ireland hurling final, and the stories of 96 continue to live on.

The GAA’s Team of the 90s: 

1 Damien Fitzhenry (Wexford)

2 Brian Corcoran (Cork)

3 Brian Lohan (Clare)

4 Martin Hanamy (Offaly)

5 Brian Whelahan (Offaly)

6 Seánie McMahon (Clare)

7 Liam Dunne (Wexford)

8 Ciarán Carey (Limerick)

9 Michael Coleman (Galway)

10 Martin Storey (Wexford)

11 Gary Kirby (Limerick)

12 Jamesie O’Connor (Clare)

13 Michael Cleary (Tipperary)

14 DJ Carey (Kilkenny)

15 Johnny Dooley (Offaly)

Screenshot (594)

Screenshot (594)