Wexford’s Fifteen Point Defeat Of Carlow Sets Up Mouthwatering Home Clash Against Kilkenny

Unsurprisingly, Wexford defeated Carlow in the Leinster Hurling Championship on Saturday evening…

Full time:
Wexford 2-28 – 0-19 Carlow

Wexford will now play Kilkenny, which will take place at 7pm, next Saturday at Innovate Wexford Park. The game itself will likely be a sell-out, as there’ll be a lot riding on the result.

New Ross, Wexford Severe Flooding 2...
Advertisment - Article Continues Below Video

Although the permutations must be considered and there’s still a few intriguing ties to take place between Dublin-Galway-Kilkenny, it will go down to the last round of the Leinster Championship to see who advances to the Leinster final.

Wexford last progressed to the Leinster hurling final in 2017, where Galway, the eventual All-Ireland winners, emerged victorious with a nine-point win.

Wexford: Mark Fanning; Damien Reck, Liam Ryan, Simon Donohoe; Shaun Murphy, Matthew O’Hanlon, Padraig Foley (0-2); Rory O’Connor (1-1), Diarmuid O’Keeffe (0-2); Liam Og McGovern, Lee Chin (0-11, 8f, 1 ’65’), Kevin Foley; Cathal Dunbar (0-3), Conor McDonald (1-4), Paul Morris (0-2). Subs: Shane Reck for Murphy (temp, 27-32), Aidan Nolan for Morris (50mins), David Dunne (0-1) for O’Connor (58), Seamus Casey (0-1) for McGovern (58), Shane Reck for Donohoe (60), Joe O’Connor (0-1) for Dunbar (70).

Carlow: Brian Tracey; Kevin McDonald, Paul Doyle, Michael Doyle; Eoin Nolan (0-1), David English, Richard Coady; Jack Kavanagh, Sean Whelan (0-1); John Michael Nolan (0-1), Martin Kavanagh (0-13, 9f, 1 ‘65’), Edward Byrne (0-1); James Doyle, Seamus Murphy, Chris Nolan (0-2). Subs: Jon Nolan for Joyce (56mins), Seamus Murphy for Byrne (64), Ger Coady for M Doyle (66), Diarmuid Byrne for John Michael Nolan (68)