Wexford Elections: Wexford’s New Dail Member All But Officially Confirmed After 2nd Count

The second count is just over for the Wexford by-elections…

After the second count, it looks likely that Gorey native Malcolm Byrne will take Wexford’s seat in Dáil Eireann, in replace of now-MEP Mick Wallace.

The Gorey native topped the poll after the second count. Even though he remains optimistic, he’s not taking anything for granted until the votes from other candidates are transferred.

Following the second count, the voting stands at:

Malcolm Byrne – FF – (+154) 12660

Verona Murphy – FG (+77) 9620

George Lawlor – LP – (+88) 8112

Johnny Mythen – SF (+219) 4344

Karin Dubsky GP (+255) 2745

Jim Codd – Aontu (+293) 2395