Davy Fitzgerald’s Starting Team For The Walsh Cup Final Has Been Revealed

Wexford play Galway today in the Walsh Cup final…

The match, with silverware up for grabs, will be a repeat of last year’s Walsh Cup final, where Galway emerged victorious with a six-point win in Bellefield.

Similar to last week’s game against Kilkenny, Wexford manager Davy Fitzgerald has named an experiemental side ahead of today’s clash. The game gets underway at 4pm from O’Moore Park .

Wexford XV:

1.James Lawlor, 2. Gary Molloy, 3.Joe O’Connor, 4. Simon Donohue, 5.Paudie Foley, 6.Ross Donohue, 7.Gavin Bailey, 8.Aidan Rochford, 9.Kevin Foley, 10.Jack O’Connor, 11.Aidan Nolan, 12.Liam OgMcGovern, 13.Harry Kehoe, 14.Andrew Shore, 15.Mikie Dwyer.

Wexford subs:

M Fanning, S Murphy, C McDonald, C Clancy, E Martin, P Morris, M Furlong, K O’Grady, D Dunne, D Reck, L Ryan.

Meanwhile, Galway have named a relatively strong side, with eleven changes made from last week’s game against Dublin.

Galway XV:

1.Darach Fahy
2. TJ Brennan
3. Paul Killeen
4. Kevin Hussey
5. Padraig Mannion Capt.
6. Gearoid McInerney
7. Adrian Tuohy
8. Sean Linnane
9. Sean Loftus
10. Conor Walsh
11. Tadhg Haran
12. Brian Concannon
13. Jarlath Mannion
14. Jason Flynn
15. Evan Niland

Darach Fahy of Ardrahan makes his debut in goal, while Evan Niland, who scored twelve points for NUIG last week, starts at corner forward.

Galway enter the game as slight favourites. Despite that, Davy Fitzgerald, his Wexford team and the travelling Wexford fans will be hopeful of lifting the first piece of silverware of the year this evening.

A win would mark a perfect start to the New Year and the new decade for Wexford hurling.

Photo Credit: Noel Reddy

What do you think? Leave a reply...