Four Wexford Natives Named On Fitzgibbon Cup Hurling Team Of The Year

Four Wexford natives have been named on the Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup team of the year…

The Wexford natives who received the plaudits are from both DCU and IT Carlow.

DCU contested the final, however, they lost to UCC by one point after Cork’s Mark Coleman slotted a last-minute side-line ball over the bar.

PART 1: Wexford Weekly - The Fanzone
PART 1: Wexford Weekly - The Fanzone

The Wexford natives selected are DCU’s Oisin Foley who was selected in goal and Rory O’Connor, who was placed at wing-forward.

Cathal Dunbar and Shane Reck, both from IT Carlow, were selected at wing-forward and corner-back respectively.

The full team is as follows:

Oisin Foley – DCU DÉ, Crossabeg Ballymurn, Wexford
Shane Reck – IT Carlow, Oylegate Glenbrien, Wexford
Robert Downey – UCC, Glen Rovers, Cork
Eanna McBride – Mary Immaculate, J.K Brackens, Tipperary
Paddy O Loughlin – UCC, Kilmallock, Limerick
Conor Burke – DCU DÉ, St. Vincent’s, Dublin
Mark Coleman – UCC, Blarney, Cork
Darragh Fitzgibbon – UCC, Charleville, Cork
Richie Leahy – IT Carlow, Rower Inistioge, Kilkenny
Rory O Connor – DCU DÉ, St. Martin’s, Wexford
Shane Conway – UCC, Lixnaw, Kerry
Cathal Dunbar – IT Carlow, Naomh Éanna, Wexford
Chris Nolan – IT Carlow, Mount Leinster Rangers, Carlow
Shane Kingston – UCC, Douglas, Cork
Tim O Mahony – Mary Immaculate, Newtownshandrum, Cork

What do you think? Leave a reply...