Register | Log in

All The Scorers From The Wexford Minor Hurling Victory Over Kildare On Wednesday

Once again, Wexford were in a battle in Newbridge — but this time, they came out on top..

After Wexford’s u-20 hurlers loss to Kildare just nine days ago, the Wexford minors were due to face Kildare in St Conleth’s Park in Newbridge.

This time, though, the Model County came out on top even though it was not all smooth sailing. Wexford trailed by a point at half-time, on a score-line of 1-06 to 1-05, after the Lilywhites scored a goal just on the half-time whistle in the 31st minute.

Wexford started strong in the second-half, pulling Aidan O’Connor’s Wexford minors ahead to emerge victorious with five points to spare on a score-line of 3-10 to 2-18.

Wexford will now face Dublin in the Leinster Minor hurling semi-final after the Dubs defeated Meath on a scoreline of 4-18 to 1-6 at Páirc Tailteann. The time and venue for that upcoming clash has also been confirmed.

The Leinster semi-final clash between Wexford and Dublin will take place in Chadwicks Wexford Park, Wednesday 21st July, at 7:30pm.


KILDARE: Eoin Sheehan (Broadford); Ciarán Kirwan (Celbridge), Liam O’Reilly (Naas), Rian Redfern (Naas); Dara Crowley (Éire Óg Corra Choill), Daniel O’Meara (Maynooth), Ryan Sinkey (Naas); Fionn Maher (Naas), Cian Boran (Naas); Seamus Kelleher (Naas), Niall Dolan (Éire Óg Corra Choill), Alan Tobin (Naas ); Killian Harrington (Naas), Ciarán Mangan (Sallins), James Dolan James (Celbridge). Subs: Fionn Cooke (Éire Óg Corra Choill) for James Dolan (half time); Josh O’Donoghue (Broadford) for Ciaran Mangan (48 minutes); Seán Murphy (Naas) for Killian Harrington (48 minutes); Bill Hennessy (Naas) for Rian Redfern (48 minutes).

WEXFORD: Tiarnan Doyle; Darragh Kehoe, Cian Ó Tuama, Robbie Chapman; Eoin Whelan Seán Cooney, Paudie Doyle; Daragh Murphy, Cillian Byrne; Darby Purcell, Luke Murphy, Andrew Moran; Simon Roche, Berty Finn, Luke Roche. Subs: Adam O’Grady for Berty Finn (27 minutes); Fionn Walsh for Andrew Moran (half time); Dylan Purcell for Cillian Byrne (35 minutes); Sean Rowley for Daragh Murphy (38 minutes); Joe Mernagh for Luke Muphry (38 minutes);

All The Scorers:

Wexford: Luke Roche 1-7 (7 frees), Luke Murphy 0-3, Simon Roche 1-2, Adam O’Grady 0-2, Fionn Walsh 0-2, Darby Purcell 0-1, Sean Cooney 0-1.

Kildare: Fionn Maher 0-5 (4 frees), Alan Tobin 1-2, Seamus Kelleher 1-0, Fionn Cooke 1-0, Cian Boran 0-2, Killian Harrington 0-1.

Read also:

To submit your news for publication, click here. To advertise with us, check out our advertising rates here.

What do you think? Leave a reply...