Register | Log in

Wexford Team: Roche Makes Several Changes For Wicklow O’Byrne Cup Clash

Wexford Senior Football manager Shane Roche has revealed his team to face Wicklow on Wednesday…

The Wexford Senior Footballers face Wicklow in the second game of the 2022 season tomorrow, Wednesday. The game takes place in Bray Emmets at 8pm.

Manager Shane Roche has opted to make several changes to the team that comfortably defeated Laois last weekend in the opening tie. Matt Doyle is named as Wexford’s number one, replacing Darragh Brooks. Gavin Sheehan starts in the full-back position, while Jim Rossiter and Castletown’s Conor Carty will also be given game time.

Niall Hughes and Glen Malone make up a different mid-field pairing than last time out, when Liam Coleman and Darragh Lyons started the game.

Adamstown’s Colum Feeney will be given game time in attack alongside Arnie Murphy.

One of Wexford’s key attackers from the Laois game, Kevin O’Grady, has not been named in the starting fifteen and is replaced by John Tubritt.

Shane Roche has named his side for the clash:

It’s great to see Shane Roche switching up his starting teams. This is the time of the year to test out these players and to allow them to gain important experience.

The last time the sides met was in the 2021 Leinster Football Championship which saw the Yellowbellies edge out an important Leinster Championship victory in the derby clash.

Featured Image Credit: Noel Reddy

Register Now! For as little as €3 annually… 

For a €3 Subscription, click here. 

For a €6 Subscription, click here. 

From December 1st, some of our content will be restricted. By registering, you will have access to all of Wexford Weekly’s content and you’ll also be supporting a growing independent brand. We thank you for your continued support.  

– Access to all content
– Improved, premium features 
– Discounts on products 
– First to know about future buses 
– Discounts on future events 

Read also:

Remember to submit your news to Wexford Weekly! To advertise on our socials or website, email our team at

What do you think? Leave a reply...