Naomh Eanna Set Up Home Tie Against Kilkenny Kingpins Ballyhale Shamrocks

Wexford Senior Hurling Champions Naomh Eanna defeated Laois champions Camross on Sunday afternoon at O’Moore Park. 

Screenshot (569)

Full time:
Camross 2-16
Naomh Eanna 3-18

Another dominant performance from the Gorey town side means the Naomh Eanna Senior hurlers continue to find themselves in unknown territory.

Now, awaiting the Gorey side is the final four of the Leinster club hurling championship; the semi-final stages in the club’s maiden year as Wexford Senior Hurling Champions.

A victory against Camross, which never looked in doubt from the offset, has set up a mouth-watering home clash against Kilkenny hurling champions, Ballyhale Shamrocks.

Ballyhale Shamrocks, managed by all-time hurling great Henry Shefflin, will compete in the Leinster semi-final versus Naomh Eanna in Innovate Wexford Park on November 18th at 1.30pm.

A win would set up a Leinster Club Senior hurling final against the winners of Offaly’s Coolderry and Dublin’s Ballyboden St Endas.

Albeit, Naomh Eanna will continue to take it one game at a time.

They’ll have a returning Cathal Dunbar, who’ll be back from his one-game suspension for the ‘helmet’ saga. However, they’re likely to be without their two corner-backs Eoin Molloy and Peter ‘Pedro’ Travers after they received suspensions following a Leinster Club Junior football game. 

Ballyhale Shamrocks possess All-Star talents of the caliber of Michael Fennelly, TJ Reid, and Colin Fennelly, while attacker Adrian Mullen is tipped heavily in Kilkenny as one for the future.

A huge crowd is expected to cheer on the Wexford champions at Innovate Wexford Park in two weeks time. This is one not to be missed.



Scorers: Zane Keenan 1-9 (1-8 frees, 0-1 65), Oisin Bennett 1-1, Niall Holmes 0-3 (0-1 free), Ciaran Collier, Darren Gilmartin, Eoin Gaughan, Mark Dowling 0-1 each.

Team: Thomas Dunphy; Andrew Mortimer, Malvin Moloney, Joseph Phelan; Lorcan Burke, Andrew Collier, Dwane Palmer; Matthew Collier, Tomás Burke; Ciaran Collier, Niall Holmes, Zane Keenan; Mark Dowling, Dean Delaney, Eoin Gaughan. Subs: Oisin Bennett for Delaney (half-time), Liam Delaney for M Collier (49 mins), Gearoid Burke for T Burke (50 mins), Darren Gilmartin for Dowling (55 mins)

Naomh Eanna

Scorers: David O’Brien 2-2, Padraig Doyle 0-9 (0-5 frees, 0-1 65), Conor McDonald 1-1, Darragh Hughes 0-3 (0-2 frees), Charlie McGuckin 0-2, Gary Molloy 0-1.

Team: Barry Kinsella; Tom Stafford, Brendan Travers, Eoin Conroy; Sean Doyle, Lee Kinsella, Jack Cullen; Aodhan Doyle, Gary Molloy; Charlie McGuckin, Padraig Doyle, Darragh Hughes; David O’Brien, Conor McDonald, William Cullen. Subs: Jack Cushe for Cullen (44 mins), Conor Hughes for O’Brien (57 mins), John O’Brien for D Hughes (62 mins)

Screenshot (92)