Register | Log in

DCU’s Wexford Contingent Bring College To Fresher A Hurling Glory

Dublin City University (DCU) retained their Freshers A Hurling All-Ireland on Wednesday evening. 

Overcoming the University of Limerick on a scoreline of 1-20 to 2-15 in Stradbally, it is DCU’s strong Wexford contingent that will gain all the headlines.

Five Wexford natives started on DCU’s starting XV, and between them, they accumulated a staggering 1-08 out of their teams 1-20.

DCU Starting XV: 

1. Dara De Poire ( St Vincent’s, Dublin)

2. Jack McVeigh (Faughs, Dublin)
3. Paddy Smith (Clontarf, Dublin)
15. Shane O’Kennedy (Ballygunnar, Waterford)

4. Evan Shefflin (Ballyhale Shamrocks, Kilkenny)
7. Peter Feeney (Na Fianna, Dublin)
6. Conor Firman (St Martin’s, Wexford)

5. Damien Reck (Oylegate Glenbrien, Wexford)
9. Liam Pender (Duffry Rovers, Wexford)

10. James Burke (Naas, Kildare)
11. Brian Ryan (South Liberties, Limerick)
12. Murtha Doyle (Oulart the Ballagh, Wexford)

13. James Bergin (Conahy Shamrocks, Kilkenny)
14. Column Prindiville (Graigue Ballycallan, Laois)
8. Rory O’Connor (St Martin’s, Wexford)

Scorers for DCU: James Bergin 0-5 (0-3f), Murtha Doyle 1-2, Damien Reck 0-4, James Burke 0-3, Rory O’Connor 0-2, Brian Ryan 0-2.

James Hennebry (Faythe Harriers) and Eoin Cullen (Liam Mellows) were also part of the victorious DCU squad, while Cathal O’Connor (Rathnure) started corner-back for the opposition.