Register | Log in

St Martins Are Crowed U-20 Premier Football Champions

Both St Martins and Gusserane O’Rahilly’s battled it out for an early Christmas present today in the Premier u-20 football final…

The final, which was held in cold conditions in Enniscorthy’s St Patrick’s Park, saw St Martins walk away with the trophy.

St Martins dominated the first-half, going in at the break on a scoreline of 1-06 to 0-01, with the goal coming from full-forward David Cantwell just ahead of the half-time break.

The second-half saw an inspired comeback from Guseranne, however, they left it all-too-late. Despite decreasing the deficit to two-points, St Martins held out, with the game finishing on a scoreline of 1-09 to 1-07.


Starting XV’s:

St Martins:
Brandon Dodd, Joe Barret, Michael Codd, Eoin O’Leary, Sam Audsley, Philip Dempsey, Ben Stafford, Adam Cantwell, Ben Maddock (C), Conor Kelly, Jack Deveraux, Luke Kavanagh, Zac Firman, David Cantwell, Kyle Firman.

S Walsh, D Barry, C Deveraux, O Waters, J Hayes, B Morris, C Stafford, D Codd, J Berry, D O’Boyle, C Keane, J Mernagh.


Guseranne O’Rahilly’s;
Mark Flynn, Donal Kinsella, Jamie Sheehan, Stephen Whelan, Eoin Codd, Tommy Ryan, Paddy Sinnott, Emmett Cullen, Mark Kehoe, Evan Kiely, Sam Wall, Eoin Ryan, Kevin O’Donohue, Oisin Foran, Gavin Sheehan.

A Whelan, L Ryan, M Hennessy, B Whitty, D Ryan, I Stafford, S Maher, M McCillen, C Twomey.

Read also:

Wexford’s Hurling And Football League Fixtures For The New Season