One Wexford Hurler Nominated For An All-Star Award

One Wexford hurler has been nominated for an All-Star award…

Wexford forward Lee Chin has been nominated for an All-Star award following his year with the Wexford Senior hurlers.

It’s not the first time that Chin has been nominated.

The Faythe Harriers clubman previously won the illustrious All-Star award back in 2019. In 2019, Wexford were crowned Leinster hurling champions after defeating Kilkenny.

Wexford then narrowly lost out to Tipperary in the All-Ireland semi-final, a day that Wexford fans still have nightmares about.

Given the fact that Wexford were knocked out in Round 1 of the hurling qualifiers in the 2021 All-Ireland Championship, it’s unlikely that Chin will receive an All-Star award this year, but despite this, a nomination is not to be snuffed at.

Chin’s club, Faythe Harriers, expressed their delight for Lee.

“Congratulations to Lee Chin on his nomination this morning as Wexford’s sole representative for the PwC All Star hurling team for 2021. Lee had a great year once again for club and county and the nomination is well deserved,” a spokesperson for the club said.

The official award ceremony will be taking place on December 10.

Chin joins an array of top hurling talent who have been nominated for awards.


Goalkeepers – Patrick Collins (Cork), Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny), Nickie Quaid (Limerick)

Defenders – Seán Finn, Dan Morrissey, Barry Nash, Diarmaid Byrnes, Kyle Hayes, Declan Hannon (all Limerick), Tim O’Mahony, Seán O’Donoghue, Mark Coleman, Robert Downey (all Cork), Calum Lyons, Kieran Bennett, Conor Prunty (all Waterford), Huw Lalor, Paddy Deegan (both Kilkenny), Cathal Barrett, Ronan Maher (both Tipperary), Rory Hayes (Clare).

Midfielders – Will O’Donoghue, Darragh O’Donovan (both Limerick), Cathal Malone, Tony Kelly (both Clare), Jamie Barron (Waterford), Paddy Purcell (Laois).

Forwards – Gearóid Hegarty, Cian Lynch, Tom Morrissey, Peter Casey, Séamus Flanagan, Aaron Gillane (all Limerick), Séamus Harnedy, Patrick Horgan, Shane Kingston, Jack O’Connor (all Cork), Stephen Bennett, Austin Gleeson, Dessie Hutchinson (all Waterford), Eoin Cody, TJ Reid (both Kilkenny), Danny Sutcliffe (Dublin), Jason Forde (Tipperary), Lee Chin (Wexford).

PWC GAA/GPA HURLER OF THE YEAR NOMINEES – Seán Finn, Kyle Hayes, Cian Lynch (all Limerick)

PWC GAA/GPA YOUNG HURLER OF THE YEAR NOMINEES – Eoin Cody (Kilkenny), Shane Barrett (Cork), Aidan McCarthy (Clare)

Read also:

Remember to submit your news to Wexford Weekly! To advertise on our socials or website, email our team at

What do you think? Leave a reply...