Extraordinary Case As No Player From Two Best Teams In County In Running For Award

It is an exciting time for players in the Wexford League…

Despite the fact the divisions of the Wexford League are either completed or winding to a close, this is the time when players of the divisions are announced.  

Managers of each club in the division are asked to put forward one player from their club who they feel deserves it. The list is then circulated to the clubs who then vote on who they feel is most deserving of the honour. After the voting, the winner is usually announced and then presented at the end of year awards ceremony hosted by the Wexford League in The Horse and Hound Hotel.  

This year the format is slightly different. There is a shortlist of three nominees who got the most votes. These three players will all be invited to the ceremony where the winner will be announced.  

The huge controversy this year is regarding the Premier Division nominees. North End United, who have recently been crowned League Champions and are in the Wexford Cup final so are going for the League and Cup double, do not have a player on the shortlist.

Likewise, Gorey Rangers, who pushed North End all the way in the league and are hoping to stop them from completing the double as are the other half of the Wexford Cup finalists, do not have a player on the shortlist.  

In my eyes, this is an extraordinary situation. The two clear best teams in the county do not have a player in the top three of the voting. I do not intend to cause offence to any of the players nominated as they are all fantastic players, but something seems wrong here.

Ferns United and Moyne Rangers who are 7th and 8th respectively have a player nominated but the top two and cup finalists do not have a representative. One has to look at the reasons why there are no North End or Gorey Rangers players on offer and a footballing reason does not come to mind.  

Should the Wexford League intervene? Is there a better system to reward players at the end of the season? One thing is clear, this is a highly unusual list for players of the division.  

Congratulations to all the nominees for the 2021/2022 season for all Divisions.  

Premier division: 

Ivan Meegan – Ferns Utd. 

Conor Bruce – Moyne Rangers  

Michael Dempsey – Shamrock Rovers 

Division 1: 

Cathal Cummins – Corach Ramblers 

Conor Sutton – Curracloe Utd 

Jason Murphy – North End Utd 

Division 2: 

Killian Cushe – Gorey Rangers 

Patrick O’ Shea – Ajax Athletic 

Craig Foley – Enniscorthy Utd 

Division 3: 

Shane Cassidy – All Blacks 

Des Mythen – St Josephs FC 

Anthony Hayes – Forth Celtic 

Division 3A: 

Eoghan Kehoe – Ballymurn Celtic 

Shane Lawlor – Rathnure Utd 

Stephen Doyle – Cushinstown 

Division 4:  

Michael Kinsella – Courtown Hibs 

Ryan Dobbs – Enniscorthy Utd 

Ben Nugent – Kiltealy Celtic 

Division 4A:  

Martin Og Storey – The Ballagh 

Theo Doyle – Glynn Barntown 

Aaron (Harry) Corish – Carne FC 

Division 5:  

Eddie O’ Brien – Gorey Rangers 

Ross Wilson – Ajax Athletic 

Robert Vickers – Ferns Utd 

Value our site? Register NOW for as little as €3 per-year… 

For a €3 Subscription, click here. 

For a €6 Subscription, click here. 

Enjoy our content? Want to keep reading it? By registering, you will have access to all of Wexford Weekly’s content and you’ll also be supporting a growing independent brand. We thank you for your continued support. It costs less than one cent per day to register on Wexford Weekly. If you value our site, we really appreciate it.

– Access to all content
– Improved, premium features 
– Discounts on products 
– First to know about future buses 
– Discounts on future events 

Read also:

Remember to submit your news to Wexford Weekly! To advertise on our socials or website, email our team at info@wexfordweekly.com

What do you think? Leave a reply...