Wexford u-21 Side Named For Tonight’s Leinster Semi-Final

This evening in Wexford Park, Wexford will face Carlow in the u-21 Leinster hurling semi-final.

In the previous 4 years, Wexford have won the prestigious knock out Leinster competition on three occasions and certainly, they will be hoping to continue their success in the grade, and a win over Carlow tonight would point them in the right direction towards silverware.

Lately, the Slaneysliders cruised past Offaly in the quarter-final. In the other quarter-final, Kilkenny beat a strong Dublin side and for their efforts will now face Westmeath in the other semi-final, which will also take place this evening in Mullingar.

In relation to Carlow, their Senior team recently won the Christy Ring Cup against Antrim and on that team are a number of players that will be playing against the Yellowbellies this evening. A Wexford win is highly expected, with the majority of bookmakers pricing them at odds of 1/25 and beyond.

Wexford u-21 team: 

1. Darragh Hughes- Naomh Eanna
2. Brian Quigley – Rathnure
3. Darren Byrne- Blackwater
4. Shane Reck- Oylegate Glenbrien
5. Rowan White- Glynn Barntown
6. Aaron Maddock- St Martins
7. Gary Molloy- Naomh Eanna
8. Joe O Connor- St Martins
9. Daire Barden- Fethard St Mogues
10. Harry O Connor- St Martins
11. Sam Kelly- Crossabeg/Ballymurn
12. Joe Coleman- St Martins
13. Cathal Dunbar- Ballygarrett
14. Stephen O Gorman- Taghmon Camross
15. Darragh Pepper- Rapparees


Billy Dunne, Conor Firman, Michael O Brien, Dillon Redmon, Oisin Foley, Rory O Connor, Cormac Moore, Darren Codd, Jake Firman.

We wish the Wexford u21 team and management the very best of luck.

Jason Redmond, Wexford Weekly