Wexford Minor Hurlers Are Through To The Leinster Hurling Final

The Wexford Minor hurlers are through to the Leinster hurling final…

Wexford emerged victorious in their Leinster semi-final clash against Dublin this evening. Wexford defeated the Dubs on a score-line of 1-15 to 1-12 at Chadwicks Wexford Park.

Some stand-out performers for the Wexford minor hurling team included Luke Roche, Darby Purcell, Cillian Byrne, and Cian O’Tuama to name just a few.

The Paul Carley and Aidan O’Connor co-managed Wexford minor hurling team now march on to the Leinster Minor hurling final where they will face Kilkenny who defeated Offaly this evening in the other Leinster Minor hurling semi-final.

Wexford last won the Leinster Minor hurling title back in 2019, the same day that the Wexford Seniors defeated Kilkenny in the Senior game in Croke Park. However, before 2019, the last time that Wexford won the Leinster minor hurling championship was 1985.

The 2021 Electric Ireland Leinster MHC Final is pencilled in to take place next Wednesday, July 28th, with a venue yet to be confirmed.

The victorious Wexford team was as follows:

All The Scorers:

Wexford: L Roche (8f, 1, 65) 0-9, S Roche 1-0, C O Tuama, Dylan Purcell, Darby Purcell, C Byrne, L Murphy, C Doyle 0-1 each.

Dublin: D McSweeney (2f, 1, 65) 1-4, C Dolan, B Gaughran, C O Riain, D O Dullaing 0-2 each.


Wexford: T Doyle; C O Tuama, E Whelan, R Chapman; Dylan Purcell, S Cooney, P Doyle; E Harney, C Byrne; Darby Purcell, A O’Grady, F Walsh; S Roche, L Roche, L Murphy. 

Subs: C Doyle for Cooney (ht), D Murphgy for O’Grady (38), J Mernagh for Walsh (44), S Rowley for Harney (45), T Brohan for S Roche (55).

Dublin: F Boyd; D Lucey, B McGuire, S Mcdonald; J Behan, C Dolan, E Keys; B Gaughran, L Garrigan; C Rock, C O’Riain, D McSweney; D O Dullang, C Walsh, L Kennedy. 

Subs: J Kenney for McDonald (ht), N Hogan for Walsh (ht), C Brennan for Kennedy (45), J Kinnane for Garrigan (55), C Whitney for Roche (56).

Featured Image via Noel Reddy

Read also:

To submit your news for publication, click here. To advertise with us, check out our advertising rates here.

What do you think? Leave a reply...